Author Topic: Calan Technologies  (Read 1313 times)

kopythat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« on: March 03, 2004, 12:52:00 pm »
Anyone have any information on Calan Technologies , Calan Host, Calan Reg????? I have 4 sites registered with them and they have just vanished?????????

There site is gone , my are gone, nobody can answer a phone there?????


Have thay gone BELLY UP???????
Need info NOW

cray

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2004, 01:10:00 pm »
__

cray

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2004, 01:11:00 pm »
Whats this got to do with Google?

Anyway I found their site and its down for me also sorry have no idea only thing you can do is keep trying on the phones/email

Emancipator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2004, 01:19:00 pm »
wish i could help, but i dont use em. If you need reccomendations on a host that wont vanish just ask.

wes_517

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2004, 10:30:00 pm »
Sadly, and like the original poster, all too late, i found this in my searches

http://www.dollardns.net/index.html?http://www.dollardns.net/manage.html

\"# Sean Cahill (info@calanhost.com) of Calan Technologies

I had some troubles with my ensim control panel where the domains wouldn\'t resolve for some clients. The ensim support said all was fine, but I didn\'t believe them. I hired DollarDNS to take a look at it and he found the problem and fixed it in only one hour! He even taught me how to manage things in the future. He only asked for $3, but I gave him $30.\"

I understand that someone has to teach everyone, but this guy is running a business and didn\'t know how to manage his DNS server... still, I wasn\'t able to find anything saying pricedrightdomains bought them out, would you mind posting a link for it?

Not that I don\'t trust you, it\'s just i\'d like to see the confirmation, and trying to find some way of gettin money back, even though I don\'t think it\'ll happen...

kopythat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2004, 10:38:00 pm »
i did a whois check on calantechnologies.com and it said it was hosted by pricedrightdomains.com and i contacted them andi got this reply
\"Domains Priced Right has taken over the domain registration portion of Calan technologies, but not the hosting, which was not done through Wild West Domains. Since the hosting was done through Calan Technologies itself, those hosting accounts may have been lost, and there is nothing we can do to correct that. We do offer our own hosting accounts, which you can view on the following page:

https://www.securepaynet.net/gdshop/hosting/landing.asp?prog_id=domainspricedright

LIKE IM GOING TO TRUST THEM....they probably paid sean cahill to open this business....get everyone to pay, and they take all the domains and get people to pay again?????


Sorry pricedright....your not getting my buz

kopythat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2004, 10:41:00 pm »
TO ALL HOSTS WHO PLAN TO GO BANKRUPT!!!!


PLEASE GIVE US SOME NOTICE....AT LEAST AN HOUR....SO WE CAN DOWNLOAD OUR DATABASES OFF YOUR SERVERS !!!

kopythat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2004, 10:43:00 pm »
OR.....at least give us a chance to look for a new host so there is no downtime !!!

theSpear

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2004, 10:54:00 pm »
question: what good would that do them? if their going down.. their going down.. the fact u have to go on a mad rage for hosting doesnt matter to them.. i mean its ethical to say we can no longer provide hosting. get new ones,  but still

wes_517

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2004, 11:07:00 pm »
ok, so do you have a suggestion for a host that\'ll be around?

What i\'m lookin for is ASP support, some database support (access is fine) a couple email addresses, email, 2 subdomains, the ability to do virtual folders, a forum and around 200 or so MB of space.

It\'s a site website for a volunteer organization, so there\'s not a whole ton of money that\'s available.

JohnScott

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2004, 11:15:00 pm »
There are a lot of hosts that\'ll be around for years. www.v7inc.com is rock solid financially. Some hosting \"companies\" are nothing more than one-man operations. Some guy gets a cheap server in a cheap datacenter (or his own bedroom) and tries to make enough money to live on just from that. Then they realize that it isn\'t that easy. So they give up, shut down and all their clients are left without sites.

V7 Inc doesn\'t rely on profits from hosting. It is just one of our income sources, with the majority of revenue coming from web design, web promotion, consulting and ad revenue.

We host websites because we have enough of our own websites, including this forum, to justify the cost of maintaining servers and tech support staff.

skarlet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2004, 12:02:00 am »
i too got screwed by calan.
if anyone wants it, this is the whois info i got on him:
bad stuff will happen to that guy...

Registrant:
Calan Technologies
439 des Bouleaux
L\'Annonciation, Quebec J0T1T0
Canada

Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: CALANHOST.COM
Created on: 26-Nov-02
Expires on: 26-Nov-04
Last Updated on: 24-Oct-03

Administrative Contact:
Cahill, Sean sean@calantech.com
Calan Technologies
439 des Bouleaux
L\'Annonciation, Quebec J0T1T0
Canada
819-275-5485 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Cahill, Sean sean@calantech.com
Calan Technologies
439 des Bouleaux
L\'Annonciation, Quebec J0T1T0
Canada
819-275-5485 Fax --

Domain servers in listed order:
NS.NSHOSTS.COM
NS2.NSHOSTS.COM

SilentRage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2004, 03:10:00 am »
\"this is the whois info i got on him\"
\"bad stuff will happen to that guy...\"

You expect somebody to try to steal his identity or something cause you spilled his whois results in this topic?  The whois database is public, it\'s not like it\'s tricky to get that info.

So you guys got screwed, hey, it\'s happened to me with a harddrive failure on a host but I got over it.  After that point I only self-hosted my stuff, and learned to create backups at all times.  %#^@ happens.

JohnScott

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2004, 03:19:00 am »
I think they are frustrated because of the lack of contact and/or resolution. I used to host with a bogus company called BinaryBlocks.com. The owner, Jason Piercy, didn\'t pay his bill and the servers got unplugged. No contact. No warning. No apology. We just waited and waited, and he never did contact any of his customers. It really pissed a lot of people off.

If he had just said \"Sorry, I\'m a loser and I took your money and didn\'t pay the bills\"  then we would have known to go elsewhere instead of waiting. But that never happened, and a few hate sites popped up, like BinaryBlocksSucks.com.

I think that is what might have happened here. The way he is handling it is... less than ideal.

kopythat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Calan Technologies
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2004, 08:20:00 pm »
well they went under....about 20feet under....pricedrightdomains bought the domains and are willing to host them for a new subscription..........


so now the question is....I need a new hosting company....one that will be around for a while.....I know some of you have your own hosting...but are you good????

I have numerous sites i need hosted, and would like a reliable host..since my customers are alittle pissed right now.....

Please feel free to send al reliable hosts my way, and i will review them all..

Thanks